Programming is easier than programmers.

Kevin Putzier
3 min readMar 12, 2022

Why Stack Exchange and similar sites are marvelous tools and toxic communities.

Photo by Pankaj Patel on Unsplash

“Read the docs!”

The first thing out of the keyboard of every useless simp on so-called discussion forums relating to programming. Stack Exchange is one of the worst for this. I absolutely never am going to ask a question there, no matter how hard or deep I’ve read the docs. Yeah, cowardly, but I’ll let somebody else take the heat, or spend the grueling hours reinventing the wheel rather than endure the abuse.

So, Get a Clue(tm) Mr. Superior Programmer. Newbies ask newbie questions. Get used to it, get over it, and if you’re not willing to help, kindly fuck off to wherever it is your sort fucks off to.

Oh, and I did read the fucking docs. You clearly wrote them, and your grasp of explanation shows.

I have dabbled with programming and computers longer than literally most of the people on these sites have been drawing breath. My first computer was an IMSAI Altair clone. It was a year old when I got it. Google it.

But it’s a hobby, and I was a little kid. Times changed, things got more complex, and the nerds turned on each other.

I’ve always found Linux interesting. Well, really any *Nix. I didn’t start messing with it, really, until 2014. Not…

--

--

Kevin Putzier

I am a practicalist, which means I take political and social ideas from all sides and try to find what works. Mostly Progressive.