Some Thoughts on Changing the World

Kevin Putzier
11 min readApr 20, 2021

This one is a little random. Just a bit of thought exercise, both to help me organize my ongoing project(s), and to give you, the reader, an idea of HOW I arrive at my conclusions.

Photo by Alexander Schimmeck on Unsplash

I got the photo above by searching “plenty” on unsplash. This relates, heavily, to what I would like to see happen in the world. My ongoing focus has been Universal Basic Income, and I will continue to focus on that. But it, like many other ideas, is a tool. That tool is designed so that humans may have plenty.

Not subsistence, not almost enough to live while scrambling like a cockroach, but actual plenty.

“So,” you might say, “What the fuck are you talking about, Kevin?”

And it would be a fair question. So, here’s the definition of plenty from Merriam-Webster:

Plenty:

an adequate or more than adequate number or amount of something : a number or amount of something that is enough for a particular purpose

Think on that for a moment. Not “just barely adequate”, and not “over the top supply”, but rather, enough, or slightly more than enough.

Enough what? The basics. The things that make your life a life instead of a grinding hell.

Food.

--

--

Kevin Putzier

I am a practicalist, which means I take political and social ideas from all sides and try to find what works. Mostly Progressive.