Rethinking Capitalism, Part Two.

Kevin Putzier
9 min readJan 20, 2021

Some objections to UBI, and why they are looking at it wrong.

Photo by Michael Longmire on Unsplash

The photo above shows what most of us live on. Scraps. That which “trickles down” from those above us. In the richest country in the world, by numbers at least, half a million people will sleep on the streets, in the woods, or under bridges tonight. With the inauguration of a new president, we need to look forward. Because what we have, in addition to being immoral in nearly every way you can think of, is unsustainable.

In my previous article, I promised I would touch on some of the objections to a Universal Basic Income. And now I shall.

The first asked is always “how are we gonna pay for it?”. I cover this to some degree in the first article in this series, and I will get back to it in future articles in greater detail. The short form is we’re going to have to tax the ultra wealthy and reinvest those monies into the nation and its people. The long form is very long, but it is not beyond our power. It is frankly the easiest objection to overcome, as the money is there, the resources are there, all that we lack is the will.

So let’s address the will. Because that’s the crux of the matter. Our nation is, as a whole, wealthy enough to see to the needs of every citizen while continuing to prosper. Unfortunately, we have a serious inequality problem.

--

--

Kevin Putzier

I am a practicalist, which means I take political and social ideas from all sides and try to find what works. Mostly Progressive.